National Symphony Youth Orchestra hosted by Taiwan NSO
Place & Time
Xinying Cultural Center Performance Hall
January 29, 2024

National Symphony Youth Orchestra, NSYO

Since beginning his term as Music Director of the National Symphony Orchestra (NSO) in January 2022, Jun Märkl has drawn experience from international youth music initiatives and incorporated the merits of young musicians training systems from various countries and orchestras to establish a National Symphony Youth Orchestra (NSYO) tailored to the characteristics of Taiwan.

During winter and summer vacations each year, the NSYO recruits exceptional young musicians from Taiwan and abroad to participate in intensive training courses and rehearsals. The orchestra also invites internationally renowned musicians to join the NSYO on tour and in concert. The NSYO is formed for the first time in July 2023, with Music Director Jun Märkl as conductor. Märkl will guide more than one hundred young musicians through rehearsals at the Miaobei Art Center before they showcase their accomplishments in performances at the Miaobei Art Center, Nantou Cultural Center, Taitung Art and Culture Center, National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying), and National Concert Hall in Taipei.

NSYO shall serve as a cultural ambassador for Taiwan, focusing on Taiwan but also looking to the world. It is our aim to solidify Taiwan's place in the global network of classical music, and to open up future possibilities for young musicians in Taiwan to explore the international music scene.

2024 NSYO Winter Application

Dates: January 22 to 30, 2024; including rehearsals and concert tour around Taiwan

Rehearsal Venue: Miaobei Art Center

Concert Tour Venues: Miaobei Art Center, Xinying Cultural Center Performance Hall (Tainan), Music Hall of Pingtung County Performing Arts Center (Pintung)

Conductor: Mei-Ann Chen

Piano: Jon Kimura Parker

Concert Repertoire

Leonard Bernstein: Overture to Candide

Florence Price: 'Nimble Feet' from Dances in the Canebrakes

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op.43

Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade


Date of birth from January 1, 1999 to January 1, 2012


拉赫瑪尼諾夫:《帕格尼尼主題狂想曲》,作品 43


Back to List
Back to Top