Debut with Springfield Symphony Orchestra
Place & Time
Symphony Hall
Springfield MA USA
October 14, 2023

Mei-Ann Chen, Conductor
Amaryn Olmeda, Violin

Dmitri Shostakovich Festive Overture
Max Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Sergei Rachmaninoff Symphony No. 2

What better way to open the Springfield Symphony Orchestra’s 80th season, and the honor of doing so, than with a program full of invigorating, energetic works? We begin with a celebratory gem—Dmitri Shostakovich’s “Festive Overture,” an aural, upbeat revelry in sound with its exhilarating, flowing melodic lines. Following is Max Bruch’s beloved, popular “Violin Concerto,” a passionate masterpiece full of rich melodies, lush orchestral moments and violin virtuosity at its best. As the evening draws to a close, we send you home with the sounds of luxurious orchestral textures, full of emotion and magnificent energy, in Rachmaninoff’s “Symphony No. 2.” One of my favorites, this work reminds us not only of the magic of large-scale orchestral works, but of how each instrument connects lovingly with each other. Music is a part of every community and this concert not only shares the beauty and wonder of music but highlights the incredible talent that is Springfield Symphony Orchestra.

Back to List
Back to Top