Chicago Sinfonietta Season Finale - Limitless Horizon
Place & Time
Symphony Center
220 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60604
Chicago IL USA
May 16, 2022

Arturo MÁRQUEZ: Conga del Fuego Nuevo (Conga of the New Fire)
Clinard Dance

Derrick SKYE: To be a Horizon*
Clinard Dance

Michelle ISAAC: Title to be announced**

Frédéric CHOPIN, arr. STRAVINSKY: Grand Valse Brillante in E-flat, No. 1, Op. 18

CHEN Gang/HE Zhanhao: Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto
Melissa White, violin

Antonín DVOŘÁK: Slavonic Dance, Op. 46 No. 8

Mei-Ann Chen
Melissa White, violin
Clinard Dance

*Chicago Premiere
**Chicago Sinfonietta Commission; World Premiere

Join us for a thrilling, multi-genre adventure with Arturo Márquez’s Congo del Fuego Nuevo (Congo of the New Fire) complete with local dancers from CLINARD DANCE, followed by Derrick Spiva Jr.’s multifaceted To be a Horizon, and a Chicago Sinfonietta commission by Project Inclusion Composing Fellow Michelle Isaac. The energy of the concert changes with the heart-stirring Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto, co-composed by Chen Gang and He Zhanhao, featuring frequent Chicago Sinfonietta collaborator, violinist Melissa White. The season finale concert closes with Dvorak’s Slavonic Dances – a favorite of our late founder, Maestro Paul Freeman.

Back to List
Back to Top