Chicago Sinfonietta 20-21 Season Opening Concert
Place & Time
Virtual Concert Premiere
Chicago IL USA
October 17, 2020
To Be Announced


Season Opening Concert
"COMMON GROUND: Collective Stories"
ONLINE Concert - Time To Be Announced

Aaron COPLAND Fanfare for the Common Man
Kathryn BOSTIC To Be Announced, Chicago Sinfonietta Commission, World Premiere
Enoch Mankayi SONTOGA / arr. Valerie COLEMAN
N'Kosi Sikeleli' iAfrika' (South African National Anthem)
Florence PRICE Andante Moderato from String Quartet in G major
Astor PIAZZOLLA / arr. Jeff SCOTT Libertango, for Woodwind Quintet
Ludwig van BEETHOVEEN / arr. Jeffrey BRIGGS
movements from Pathétique, Sonata for Piano for Strings

Mei-Ann Chen

Kathryn Bostic, Composer

 During this unique time in the history of our country, and the world, we continue to seek a path to equity and justice through Common Ground. Chicago Sinfonietta presents an online season opening concert that begins with Copland's historic Fanfare for the Common Man, dedicated to the pandemic's heroes that have helped us all to move forward in this extraordinary time. Followed by a Chicago Sinfonietta world premiere commission (title to be announced) to which we can all find meaning in by Kathryn Bostic, the first female African American composer to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and a moving work for string ensemble by Florence Price. Jeff Scott's woodwind quintet arrangement of Piazzolla's rousing and crowd pleasing Libertango reflects our yearning for liberty during these challenging times. Closing the concert is a new string arrangement by American composer Jeffrey Briggs of Beethoven's beloved Pathétique Sonata for piano, which marks the 250th anniversary of the prolific composer's birth.


Back to List
Back to Top